Holy Toledo

MAC. A name so many beauty addicts know and love. I was one of them. They started my transition from drugstore to designer. I was a MAC addict in high school. I had so many products from them! But one day I met Sephora. She offered me so many different brands and options that I couldn’t help but fall for her. Somehow I moved on, without MAC. But then one day (10 years later) I stopped in with my friend and saw that they had the most gorgeous red lipstick display with the coolest packaging. Toledo. I knew the day had come for me to fool around, once again, with my old flame.

image

See, my boyfriend wanted to give me a red lipstick for Valentine’s Day. Specifically, the new Jeffree Star Cosmetics Liquid Lipstick in Red Rum. However, when I went to order it, shipping was $11 USD – on a $18 USD lipstick!!! It made absolutely no sense to order it, an $18 lipstick would quickly become a $35 CAD lipstick … not even NARS costs that much! Quick and simple … NO!

Later that same day, was the glorious moment I stepped into Mac and had my red lipstick prayers answered. They had a variety of reds available in the limited edition Toledo line, but I wanted a bright red with blue undertones. So I picked out the shade Opera.

image

Now I know this collection was released back in February, but I needed time to a) stare at it before I used it and b) have a chance to use it a few times before I really gave my opinion (after all, it had been years since I had made a MAC purchase).

image

I am a MAC lover once again. This lipstick is creamy and so pigmented. The color you get in one swipe is bold and beautiful. And it stays!! Through coffee or a light lunch. I like my lipstick to always look fresh so I top it up often, but it isn’t actually necessary with this stunner (I definitely do it out of habit). And the packaging. Seriously. How cool and amazing is it? I have no trouble at all finding this baby amongst all my other lipsticks. Plus, at $19 CAD it is significantly cheaper than most of my other faves (Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipstick, Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturizing Lipstick, Buxom Full Bodied Lipstick, etc.)

image

Sadly, this collection is no longer available through MAC, but you could probably find it on eBay. I do believe however, that this lipstick speaks volumes about the quality of MAC lipsticks. I’m sure a similar dupe could be found in their permanent line. If you fell out of love with MAC, have never tried MAC, or think that MAC is overrated, I suggest you try something from them asap. I was sooo surprised with the quality and the prices. I’m used to paying more for similar products from other brands, but MAC seems like it could be a budget friendly substitute!!

Did you pick up anything from the Toledo line?? โ™กโ™ก

4 thoughts on “Holy Toledo

  1. Omg I was like you, my first high end was MAC then I met Sephora and fell hard. I love the points system more and wish MAC had that ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I would buy things here and there from their LE collections but this year I fell hard for them again. From the Cinderella collection, to Bao Bao, to Julia Petit, and Toledo I needed at least one thing from each collection. I got Oxblood and BBQ, I have worn Oxblood and the lipglass and like it but love the lipglass more. I have yet to wear BBQ (I know what is wrong with me, but I keep forgetting about it eek) MAC is certainly back on my stores to shop for makeup but I wish the LE collections weren’t a madhouse to get xoxo Janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

