Shopper’s Super Saver Splurge

Splurge“. Or at least it would have been if I wasn’t AMAZING at tracking down such insane deals.
PROOF.

image

Once again, Shopper’s rubbed me all types of wonderful. Ya ya. SDM is expensive, but only if you don’t know what you are doing. They have a phenomenal rewards program, the best in Canada if you ask me. If you shop during extra points events, you will hit reward levels in no time, the second half of this post was purchased during one of these events.

But first, you’re still in awe from seeing how I spent $7.73 CAD and SAVED $117.51 CAD. Here’s what I got:

image

L’Oréal Voluminous Butterfly Mascara & Super Liner Ultra Precision Diamantissime Liquid Eyeliner Combo Pack (Blackest Black; Waterproof & Regular)
Value: $25.98 CAD
Retail: $14.99 CAD
Steal: $1.99 CAD

image

This is a new mascara from L’Oréal. I love the concept and was totally curious to try out the one of a kind brush. Did you know L’Oréal owns Urban Decay? Surprised? Looking for a good drug store brand? L’Oréal is always my go to for cheap mascara. One of my first mascaras was the original L’Oréal Voluminous. Obviously that made me extra excited to try out this formula! The picture shows the packaging as gold, but that was just the flash on my camera, the tube itself is actually silver. The lid is round and thick, I actually found it difficult to hold when applying the mascara. It felt like it could easily slip out of my grasp.

image

The brush is hard to capture with a photograph. It has two sides that fan out, with the backside having a slight curve covered in small bristles. It was incredibly difficult to get used to this brush. It needs to be angled perfectly to apply to the lashes. Applying to my right eye (I’m right handed) was relatively easy. The left eye however, was significantly more difficult. Getting the brush to not poke me in the eye with the fan bristles, but also coat the lashes, took some time and finesse. This is definitely NOT a grab and go mascara. All of that said, the formula is wonderful. It separates and adds tons of volume as well as some length. I think once you get the hang of the brush, this could easily become a drugstore favorite.

The liner has bits of silver glitter in it, making it the perfect extra touch for Friday and Saturday night makeup. The felt tip of this liner is very fine, perfect for thin or thick lines.

Overall, $2 CAD for a set? Omg yes! I picked up 6 of these. Yes 6! A mix of waterproof and non. For $1 per product, I could bring a tube on vacation without worrying about losing it or leaving it behind. Mascara will last a very long time if the factory seal is not broken.

Almay Intense i-Color Bold Nudes Combo Pack
Value: $21.98 CAD
Retail: $14.99 CAD
Steal: $1.99 CAD

image

Essie Nail Lacquer (Clambake & Go Overboard)
Retail: $10.99 CAD
Steal: $0.99 CAD
image
image

GOSH Cosmetics Mineral Color Pigment (Green Apple)
Retail: $12 CAD
Steal: $0.99 CAD

Clearly, this doesn’t all add up to $7.73 CAD. Especially once I admitted I bought SIX mascara sets – that’s $12 CAD already, add the other items and we are around $17 CAD. I only spent $7 CAD because I had a $10 CAD gift card that I got for free from spending $50 CAD earlier in the week. But I didn’t aimlessly spend $50 CAD, I found a load of goodies in the beauty clearance.

image
image

I’m a sucker for the Shopper’s clearance items. I always hunt for them and take a quick peek even on days when I am just quickly stopping in to get a prescription or some other health item.

Quo Travel Essentials
Retail: $16 CAD
Steal: $4.99 CAD

image

This kit is beyond adorable. It even has label stickers you can apply to the bottles so you remember what’s in them. This set is great for travel, camping, the gym bag, the possibilities are endless.

Quo Manicure Kit
Retail: $25 CAD
Steal: $5.97 CAD

image
image

What a steal!!! The cuticle scissors alone are worth the $6 CAD!! I couldn’t resist picking up this beauty! Plus the blue snakeskin print is super cute.

Quo Tweezer Set
Retail: $16 CAD
Steal: $8 CAD

image

This set was not on clearance but it was on sale. I needed a new (good quality) eyelash curler and this set was cheaper than buying the curler individually. I’m still getting used to the fact that the handles don’t have loops for your fingers, like my old curler. The 10x magnifying mirror and tweezers are great for adding to my false eyelash kit. The mirror even has suction cups on the back to adhere to any mirror, anywhere, anytime.

Quo Electric Eyes (Volt & Fire)
Retail: $12 CAD
Steal: $0.97 CAD

image

These pencils are great for many things, shadow being one. Volt (light pink) is perfect highlighting the brow bone. Fire (yellow) is much more glittery. The big pencil type is great for body art as well. Although Volt is by far my favorite, for $0.97 CAD, I had to get both.

GOSH Cosmetics Mineral Color Pigment (Baby Doll)
Retail: $12 CAD
Steal: $3.97 CAD

image

Look at that vibrant pink! Pure pigment is so delightful to work with. Great for mixing with other pigments, using for body art, or using wet for a bright eyeliner. I only picked this up in the shade Baby Doll as it was still $3.97 CAD, that worked out nicely because I later found the shade Green Apple at a different SDM for cheaper. These light pastels are going to be perfect for spring!

image

Essence Nail Art
Retail: $3.99 CAD
Steal: $0.97 CAD

image

Bonnebell Eye Definer
Retail: $3.99 CAD
Steal: $0.47 CAD

image

Covergirl Outlast Stay Brilliant Nail Gloss
Retail: $5.99 CAD
Steal: $0.97 CAD

image

Quo Lip Brush
Retail: $13 CAD
Steal: $1.97 CAD
image

I already own and LOVE this brush. I specifically love that it has a lid, making it perfect for travel. As luck would go, I had purchased two of these brushes right before I found them on sale. But that’s okay! I bought more anyway, I mean why not have separate brushes for different colors so I don’t have to constantly wash the brush. Lazy much?! In true Quo fashion, the quality of this brush does not disappoint and is definitely my favorite lip brush of ALL time.

And lastly I got a Quo Sponge for $1.97 CAD (Retail $5 CAD).

This haul had a decent savings as well. Some items were purchased in multiples, bringing the total to just a few cents over $50 CAD. My savings from this trip was $116.88 CAD. You really can’t beat those clearance deals!! I also got a $10 Shopper’s Drug Mart card back which I used towards the initial purchases discussed at the beginning of this post. So for just under $58 CAD I got all of these items, along with a ton of duplicates for back ups and gifts.

Everytime you go to Shopper’s don’t forget to check the clearance beauty items. You never know what you are going to find!! ♡♡

16 thoughts on “Shopper’s Super Saver Splurge

    • Good for you!! It can definitely be a win if you shop strategically, shop flyers and sales. I’m definitely guilty of spending $50 on household items and stuff we need to get the bonus points and then spending all of my points on the good stuff. Haha!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

