Semi Sweet Is Oh-So-Sweet

Too Faced. One of my favorite beauty brands (along with Benefit Cosmetics, Quo, Urban Decay … ok ok I get it. #makeupwhore). Too Faced recently released their SECOND Chocolate Bar palette, Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar, and I just knew that I was going to have to indulge in the sweet, rich goodness. I picked this palette up at the beginning of January and have had some time to stare at it, play with it.

image

I do not own the original Chocolate Bar palette, but I knew that this would be a better fit for me. The original palette contained more pink and purple hued shades compared to the generous helping of browns and coppers in the Semi Sweet. Of all the colors in the rainbow – browns, golds, champanges, and espressos, continue to hold my deepest desires.

image

The box has the most adorable polka dots and a quick picture of each shade in the palette, on the back. Sephora has one of these palettes out to try, so I barely looked at the shades on the box and when straight to the hands on fun. These shadows are made with REAL cocoa, are free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates and are cruelty-free.
image
The packaging looks exactly like a chocolate bar. This palette is apparently smaller than the original Chocolate Bar (although they have now been repackaged to be smaller and more similar to the Semi Sweet). The case is metal with a magnetic clasp, that helps ensure it is closed (great for travelling!). I typically am not a fan of tin type palettes as they show dings and dents, I always feel like they might tarnish or rust, and, if silver, show fingerprints off like an art galley. This case has a good weight to it and is painted brown so I have faith that it will hold up and change my opinions on metal casing. Here’s hoping! There is also a little mirror in the lid which is great for on the go applications! I love that the shades are listed on the palette itself, makes communication effortless.

image

The first thing I noticed when I opened the Semi Sweet, was the delightful smell of chocolate. That and the beautiful shades, of course! This palette contains 16 eyeshadows, 2 of which are larger than the rest, Coconut Creme (matte) and Butter Pecan (shimmer). This is perfect because these are great base colors or highlight colors and will probably be used most often.

Indulge your beauty craving with 16 antioxidant-rich, cocoa powder-infused matte and shimmer shades of warm caramels, deep mochas, bronzy chocolate hues and a pop of sugared blueberry.

These shadows are highly pigmented, extremely blendable and easy to layer, allowing you to easily customize how dark you want your shadow to be (day vs. night, etc.) They are smooth and powdery. They have impressive staying power. With a primer, these shadows will have no problem lasting all day and all Saturday night and early Sunday morning if required. They don’t crease or have fallout during wear. Some shades do have a bit of fallout during application, this is easily fixed with a light (clean) brush sweep, or just apply foundation after applying shadow. I love the mix of shimmers and mattes! Perfect combo for a variety of looks.

image

The blue shade, Blueberry Swirl, is the perfect shade for a pop of color. It is a darker blue with a greenish sheen. It really it gorgeous! The shade Pink Sugar is not at all what I expected. I had heard it was powdery, with no color. This was not what I found. Pink Sugar should be thought of as a finishing shade, it is made to apply a texture layered over color (or worn alone with intentions for a light dusting of shimmer). The color is iridescent pink and gold shimmer. I personally love this addition to the palette as I own NOTHING like it. I can imagine this being perfect for that added bit of glam, layering over a favorite matte shadow to give it that perfect amount of shimmer, or for dusting on my face/body for a theme party or Halloween. Totally versatile and totally underrated. The other shades are just as expected, rich and pigmented and the new loves of my life.

image
**Stock Photo

I love this palette sooo much. Seriously, great purchase, worth every penny. Plus, the scent is to die for. Thank you to my bffs for the birthday gift cards, it was exactly what I wanted, the sweetest present!! ♡

6 thoughts on “Semi Sweet Is Oh-So-Sweet

  1. Pingback: Hourglass Heaven | Boobs & Blonde

Leave a Reply

