Welcome To The Top

I might have done something very bad. And by very bad, I could mean very amazing. I have reached the top and the view is amazing. Or at least that’s what they tell me. That’s right, I hit VIB Rouge at Sephora. That means I spent $1000 CAD in one calendar year. Oops. Double oops. I can try and justify it and say “but I purchased my friend’s curling iron so she could get 20% off“, or that “I bought alot of Christmas gifts at Sephora“. But it doesn’t matter. I still spent an astronomical amount of money at Sephora, on myself.

image

Of course, you get your little welcome kit and, as it’s designed to, you instantly can’t help but feel excited. I loved being a VIB, but I couldn’t help but envy the Rouges with their extra special birthday gifts, free shipping, unlimited makeovers, and extra cool, free VIB gifts with purchase.

image

The card is red, shiny, and loud, calling to have a special place all it’s own in my wallet. The kit also includes a small pamphlet explaining perks, a card for unlimited beauty studio access, and a special mini BITE lipstick in an exclusive shade available only to VIB Rouge’s. Feel special yet?

image

I’m so excited to be a VIB Rouge member and even more excited to share the goodies and perks with all of you!!

Some VIB and VIB Rouge technicalities I wanted to point out:

1. The amount of money spent to be apart of VIB or VIB Rouge is accumulated from January 1st to December 31st of that year. Meaning, if you hit Rouge at anytime in the year before December 31st (I for example hit Rouge on Dec. 26th) any purchases you make before the year ends (for me it would have been any purchases made between the 26th and the 31st) will not count towards your 2015 spend total to renew your membership for 2016. This wasn’t a big deal for me as I only had to wait five days for my “total spent to date” to refresh. But if you hit Rouge in October or November (or even earlier like in the summer) purchases you make before the new year will not be carried over to count towards the following year’s membership. Thanks to Janet from Jan&Jot for pointing that out to me!!

2. For us Canadians, buying online means LESS Beauty Insider Rewards Points and LESS money being banked towards totals spent in a calendar year. Buying online is beneficial for sales, clearance items, free gifts, and free samples. However, when buying online, points are accumulated based on USD prices, 1 point for every $1 USD spent. When you buy in store, you get 1 point for every $1 CAD spent. Based on slight variations between CAD and USD prices, you lose out on points and dollars toward year to date totals (roughly $20 worth on a $130 order). If you are getting something not on sale, or something available in store, and there are no crazy online promotions available, I suggest going into the store to buy your item (even though Rouge members get free shipping) to accumulate more reward points and help ensure you stay VIB or VIB Rouge the following year.

3. I have heard about people being locked out of their accounts or losing Rouge status for making too many online orders. Has anybody had this happen to them? If so, what is considered “too many orders”? I could see this being true if people made multiple orders in one day, obviously taking advantage of the free shipping. However, if this is happening even with days or weeks between orders, that is unacceptable. You can’t claim to have free shipping as a membership perk and then take it away just because.

♡

7 thoughts on “Welcome To The Top

    • Yes! I noticed and called them thinking I got less points in error. That’s when I was told it is based on US dollars. Sometimes it is worth it for a really good free gift etc. but if possible I go in store!!

      Like

  1. Yay welcome to the top! Happy to have helped with the tip ❤️ and omg that really stinks about ordering online in Canada! I like ordering online for the free promotions and now with free shipping I am going to be ordering more but I also heard about members getting revoked and flagged. Eeek hope that doesn’t happen 😬 xoxo Janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ya it only sucks if you are making lots of orders online. Over time ten dollars lost here or there can add up. But I will still order online when a super good deal comes up. Especially if I only but enough to get the promotion.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Boxing Day Beauties | Boobs & Blonde

Leave a Reply

