Winter Essentials

I was tagged by Janet (janandjot) to do a wonderful post all about beauty & the dreaded Old Man Winter. I live in Canada, particularly by the Rockies. In the winter, we get these lovely things called “Chinooks” that bring warm air from the ocean, over the mountains, to my beautiful city. It isn’t unheard of for the weather to go from -30 C to well over 10 C ( -22 F to 50 F) in a matter of HOURS. That being said, my body and skin can take a beating over the winter months!! What a perfect post for all my fellow frozen readers!
image
The Questions:

1) What’s your ultimate party season lip product?
2) What’s your winter essential product?
3) What are you most hoping to see under the Christmas Tree?
4) Name one beauty essential that’s never missing from your bag during colder months.
5) What are your winter weather skincare saviours?
6) What’s winter going to smell like this year?
7) Is the berry eye the new berry lip?
8) What are you greatest winter indulgences?
9) Lush Christmas? Your top pick?
10) Name one (or more) random winter essential.

The Answers:

1) What’s your ultimate party season lip product?
My go to lip product during the holidays is a BOLD lip. Specifically, a gorgeous red shade. My loving Buxom Full On Lipstick in Shanghai. This lipstick stays put and is hydrating. No lip liner? No problem. This lipstick is easy to apply as a lip liner because of it’s unique “pencil” like application (no sharpener required). This lipstick also has a plumping effect that tingles, which I love!
My go to “budget friendly” lipstick is Hakari in Cabernet.  This lipstick is hands down my FAVORITE cheap lipstick. Creamy, pigmented and buildable, and not at all drying. And only $13! I received this beauty fav in my ipsy bag and again in my Lip Monthly bag, so I’m happily stocked for a while!

2) What’s your winter essential product?
Moisturize, moisturize, moisturize!!! I love adding a good facial oil to my moisturizer to help kick it up a notch. My current favorite is Tarte’s Maracuja Oil. The oil doesn’t leave my skin greasy, doesn’t cause me to break out, and gives me all that extra moisture that my skin so desperately wants. I add a few drops to my daily moisturizer, or if I really need it, just apply the oil directly to my face at night before bed.

3) What are you most hoping to see under the Christmas Tree?
Oh my goodness. I feel like I always want so many things (see my Holiday Wishlist post here). But I think the thing I want most, is a DSLR camera (the kind with interchangeable lenses). I feel like sometimes you want a really good camera to capture special moments or breathtaking views. I also really want some stackable Pandora rings. They are perfect for daily wear (they are made of Sterling Silver), without concern of losing expensive diamonds or damaging them.

4) Name one beauty essential that’s never missing from your bag during colder months.
Lip Balm! I’m addicted to lip balm in any season, especially the cold, dry months. EOS is a great daily lip balm with fun packaging and colors and delicious flavors. But sometimes it isn’t enough and I need a little something extra to smooth my chapped lips. Polysporin Visible Lip Health Overnight Renewal Therapy is THE BEST overnight product. It feels like a cream and applies white, but in the morning your lips will feel so amazing. If I still need some extra protection come morning, a tube of strawberry Carmex is my go to.

5) What are your winter weather skincare saviours?
I already mentioned the importance of moisturizing but I didn’t tell you about my favorite moisturizers for winter. My favorite heavy duty moisturizer is Boscia Intensifying Moisture Pack +. It can even be applied as an overnight mask! My favorite everyday moisturizer (for all seasons) is Biotherm Aquasource Moisturizing Gel Cream. The smell is light and fresh (not at all overpowering!).

6) What’s winter going to smell like this year?
Pine (we always put up a real tree!).

7) Is the berry eye the new berry lip?
Please, No. I’m loving berry lips, but berry eyes remind me of an injury or swollen, allergy affected eyes, not sexy.

8) What are you greatest winter indulgences?
Chocolate of course! And Chinese food. I know, why Chinese food? It’s a tradition in my family, since long before I was even a thought (let alone born) to order Chinese food for dinner on Christmas Eve. Sometimes, this was one of the only times we would indulge in Chinese food for the whole year.

9) Lush Christmas? Your top pick?
I actually don’t own anything from LUSH!! I think I tried a body wash from them once, but it was so long ago that I can’t even remember what it was specifically.

10) Name one (or more) random winter essential(s).
An adorable pair of boots. Preferably waterproof, Chinooks lead to alot of slush! And of course a cute pair of mittens to carry at all times either in my car or purse – because you never know when it will suddenly go from warm to arctic (when the Chinooks eventually leave or we get hit with a cold spell).

2 thoughts on “Winter Essentials

  1. Thanks so much for doing the tag! It was so nice to read your answers 🙂 I need to try that Buxom lip pencil/lipstick. I want to feel the tingles and see the plumping effect lol. I want a nice DSLR camera too, that would be really nice. Your berry eyes answer cracked me up lololol because it’s so true and I never thought of it ❤ Janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww thanks for reading it doll!! You have to try the Buxom lipsticks. They are some of my favs!! And I definitely feel like I look like the berry eyes more often than not because I’m allergic to dogs and cats and I own them both hahah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

